A Trip to Nagorno Karabakh: Pics

Sometimes you need to have mood for doing something; even when there is great desire but no mood you will either never do it or do it so slowly that it will seem to have no end. It’s already a week I wanted to write and describe my trip to Nagorno Karabakh (Artsakh) but unfortunately I have no mood. Instead I decided to post some pics. Just several brief notes:

  • First, I went to Qashatagh, the largest and yet most neglected city of Nagorno Karabakh, which is mainly populated by people from Armenia. The nature is splendid, the people are awesome and they all warmly received me, which was very surprising for me. A t least now I know that the legends and myths regarding the hospitality of Armenians are not just a myth but the reality.

There are two options to get to Qashatagh – minibus and taxi. A trip by minibus will cost you 3500 Dram one way, while a one way trip by taxi will cost you around 18.000-20.000 Dram.

  • Second, the blue and black striped sweater in my hands is not just a sweater; it’s piece of my life, it’s alive to me since holding it is like hugging someone who has not least notion of how I feel about that sweater and in general, every single thing that comes from that “someone.”
  • Third, the kid is my friend’s sister’s son; he’s two months old and I loved him much.
  • Fourth, we were traveling with my close friend Nane and her two sisters Sofi and Anahit, who as well have become very dear to me. We were visiting their aunt who very much reminded me of mine.
  • Fifth, we spent like three days there and each day I felt like there was someone else with me; someone whom I had left in Yerevan, but who was with me all the time. Perhaps that missing picture can be seen on my face.
  • Sixth, I made barbecue! For the first time in my life!!! That was cool!

Photo by Ani Babayan

Once I wrote in one of my articles that babies are the ‘sweet new blossom of humanity,’ and my editor praised me for that description. Back then I had picked several nice words to have a nicely presented article, while now I feel every word in that phrase. Loved this little angel.

My close friend Nane

Photo by Ani Babayan

This is my close friend Nane, who is also the baby’s aunt, but I guess the baby loved me more. 😀

Photo by Ani Babayan

Me making barbecue for the first time in my life! It was cool to have the guys watching a girl make a barbecue, especially when in Armenia it’s something that men do. Leaving aside all the principles of modesty, the barbecue was great!

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

Crazy night shots with the Paskevichyans!!!

Photo by Ani Babayan

These turkeys had human names, all I remember is one of them was named “Qnarik.” Lol.

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

The pic was shot in the churchyard. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the church’s name.

Photo by Ani Babayan

I guess it’s high time I start thinking of having my own family, I loved the mom’s role, although I have no least idea of how I should take care for the kids. 😀

Photo by Ani Babayan

The baking process of this cake started at 5 am. It was completed at 7.30 am. It was ready for consumption at 8.30 am! We ate it and left back for Armenia! The cake was baked by my friend Nane’s aunt and it was so tasty that without feeling shy I asked for three pieces.

Photo by Ani Babayan

Thanks to everyone who made my three-day travel to this splendid corner of the world memorable!

Leave a comment