Lake Sevan

Ronald Reagan: Freedom is not free (best quotes)

It’s no secret that I love Reagan. Putting aside the controversial ideas about his politics, which do not matter that much at this very moment, I admire him as a person, as a husband and as a father. His manhood is an example to follow and his dedication to his wife and his wife’s dedication to him deserve one thing — appreciation.

His love letters to his wife have not once made me reconsider my life and at this very moment when I feel “darkest blue,” I decided not to break traditions and read some Reagan stuff, this time they were quotes by him, some of which [some of the best, in my opinion] can be found below:

“I’ve noticed that everyone who is for abortion has already been born.”

“Within the covers of the Bible are the answers for all the problems men face.”

“The most terrifying words in the English language are: I’m from the government and I’m here to help.”

“Live simply, love generously, care deeply, speak kindly, leave the rest to God.”

“Sometimes when I’m faced with an atheist, I am tempted to invite him to the greatest gourmet dinner that one could ever serve, and when we have finished eating that magnificent dinner, to ask him if he believes there’s a cook.”

“Status quo, you know, is Latin for ‘the mess we’re in.”

“I’ve always believed that a lot of the trouble in the world would disappear if we were talking to each other instead of about each other.”

“We can’t help everyone, but everyone can help someone.”

“There are no such things as limits to growth, because there are no limits to the human capacity for intelligence, imagination, and wonder.”

“Governments tend not to solve problems, only to rearrange them.”

“I spoke to ears that refused to hear.”

“If you serve a child a rotten hamburger in America, federal, state, and local agencies will investigate you, summon you, close you down, whatever. But if you provide a child with a rotten education, nothing happens, except that you’re liable to be given more money to do it with. Well, we’ve discovered that money alone isn’t the answer.”

“If politics were a musical, it would be ‘Promises, Promises.'”

“Freedom is not free.”

“Just think how happy you’d be if you lost everything you have right now & then got it back.”

“There are advantages to being elected President. The day after I was elected, I had my high school grades classified Top Secret.”

Source: Goodreads

Leave a comment