In Yerevan Zoo

Photo by Ani Babayan

A visit to Yerevan Zoo was kind of a pre-birthday gift for me made by one of my friends, Larisa. We spent great time there, although she was apparently very much annoyed and even bored with my continuous and never ceasing moments of excitement and wows. That’s where I was most close to the nature and wildlife, although my views on keeping animals in such small cages, and on the whole, cutting them from nature and locking somewhere are still to be discussed, but not now and not today.

Two things about the zoo; first you have to pay 500 Dram (it makes 500 Dram for adults, and below 500 Dram, if I am not mistaken 250 Dram for kids) for the entrance and second, make sure you have some cabbage and carrot with you. The food can be bought in the zoo, but why spend extra money (400 Dram) on a small amount when you can buy much more from the shops, and feed more animals.

Yerevan Zoo is far from being one of the most impressive parks in the world, but still it’s worth visiting if you love animals. Note that the variety of animals is not great, so don’t expect much. The animals and birds you will meet in the Zoo are peacocks, bears, deer, lions, donkeys, ponies and horses, camels, eagles, various species of birds the name of which I can hardly recall, snakes, turtles and more.

Photo by Ani Babayan

The bears were so cute! I loved that they were continuously communicating with us! Especially the one on the stone, he was even raising his hand asking to throw the food in his direction. That was fun!

Photo by Ani Babayan

High-five hun!

Photo by Ani Babayan

If I didn’t know this picture was made in Armenia I would never believe. Feels like it’s somewhere in Texas, or in some desert.

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

He looked at me so excitedly! I made some attempts to kiss one of them, but failed.

Photo by Ani Babayan

Stared at my belly for some 5-6 minutes. I wonder what he saw there. 😀

Photo by Ani Babayan

The elephant generally keeps inside, but if you want him out, call his name, “Hrant.” I did that and he came out! Just like every human he recognizes his name! So great! Hrant!!! But he won’t be at your disposal for long, he comes out for food, so make sure you offer him something, of course, meant for elephants.

Photo by Ani Babayan

Photo by Ani Babayan

The camel closest to me pretended not to care about me and the camera, and Larisa who was taking the pic, but simply look at his look! I believe he did care!

Photo by Ani Babayan

There is obviously something about my belly. Maybe I am pregnant and they feel it? Calm down, just a stupid joke! 😀

Photo by Ani Babayan

Lastly, two girls vs two donkeys. Who wins? 😀

One comment on “In Yerevan Zoo

Leave a comment